About Sheridan Libraries: 

With more than 7.3 million items in a variety of physical, digital, and electronic formats, the Sheridan Libraries provide the major library research resources for Johns Hopkins University.

The system includes the Milton S. Eisenhower Library, Brody Learning Commons, and Albert D. Hutzler Reading Room on the Homewood campus, the John Work Garrett Library at Evergreen Museum & Library, the George Peabody Library on the Peabody campus, and a new library opening in fall 2023 on the Washington, DC campus.

Humanities graduate students primarily depend on the resources of the Milton S. Eisenhower Library, or MSEL.The physical library is in preparation for an upcoming renovation, so you will find that many of the books you need are at the Library Services Center (LSC). 

You will often see the Library Services Center mentioned as a Location for library materials when searching in our library catalog, or you might hear librarians call it LSC. 

The Libraries Service Center is the Sheridan Libraries Off-site shelving facility. Located in Laurel, the facility holds over 1.4 million monographs and journal volumes, 18,000 boxes of Archival and Special Collections material, and nearly all of the libraries’ AV collection.

• Monographs and Journal Volumes can be requested through Catalyst.
• Electronic Copies of articles from Journals and sections of monographs can requested through Interlibrary Loan. (Requests for these materials can also be placed by emailing lsc@jhu.edu.)
• Archives and Special Collections boxes must be requested through the Special Collections Department.

Monographs, Journal Volumes, and AV material can be delivered to any JHU Libraries pick-up location. Delivery is usually within 24 hours of request.

Electronic Copies can be sent directly to the user, and arrive within 24 hours. Archives and Special Collections materials are delivered only to the Special Collections room in the Brody Learning Commons, and are usually available within 24 hours.  It can take up to two days to receive Special Collections materials.

If you have any problems with a request for material from the LSC contact lsc@jhu.edu.

Welch Medical Library (East Baltimore)

Arthur Friedheim Library (at Peabody Institute)

Applied Physics Laboratory